Margaret Levi

Distinguished Fellow, Class of 2023

Margaret Levi is Professor of Political Science and Senior Fellow at both the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and the Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University.  She was formerly the Sara Miller McCune Director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS), and she is also Jere L. Bacharach Professor Emerita of International Studies in the Department of Political Science at the University of Washington.

Dr. Levi is the author or coauthor of numerous articles and seven books, including Of Rule and Revenue (University of California Press, 1988); Consent, Dissent, and Patriotism (Cambridge University Press, 1997); Analytic Narratives (Princeton University Press, 1998); and Cooperation Without Trust? (Russell Sage, 2005). In the Interest of Others (Princeton, 2013), co-authored with John Ahlquist, explores how organizations provoke member willingness to act beyond material interest. In 2015 she published the co-authored Labor Standards in International Supply Chains (Edward Elgar), a reflection of her work on understanding and improving supply chains so that the consumable goods are produced in a sustainable manner. Her most recent book, co-authored with Frederick Carugati, is A Moral Political Economy (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2021).

Dr. Levi’s many accolades across the sciences and social sciences include winning the 2019 Johan Skytte Prize, serving as president of the American Political Science Association from 2004 to 2005, receiving the William H. Riker Prize in Political Science in 2014, giving the Elinor Ostrom Memorial Lecture in 2017, and in 2018 receiving an honorary doctorate from Universidad Carlos III de Madrid. Dr. Levi became a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001, a John Simon Guggenheim Fellow in 2002, a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 2015, the Robert Dahl Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science in 2017, a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2018, and a member of the British Academy in 2022. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *