2017 Future of Wealth Summit Starts Wednesday

Thursday, April 20, 2017
Times Union

The 2017 Future of Wealth Summit: Technology, Inclusion and Social Change” will be hosted by the Center for Global Policy Solutions on April 26-28, 2017. Nearly three dozen diverse experts will discuss how technology can foster convenient access to critical information and services without reinforcing bias, narrowing choices, and undermining privacy.

Speakers and guests will include Jesse Williams, actor, activist, and co-founder of the startup mobile app Ebroji; Star Jones, a noted television personality and attorney who heads the National Association of Professional Women and Professional Diversity Network; U.S. Reps. Greg Meeks (NY-5th) and Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30th); and Panama Jackson, co-founder of the popular VerySmartBrothas blog.

The Summit will feature the “Inclusion Revolution Innovation Competition,” where four tech innovators, including a Baltimore-area high school senior, will vie for a $10,000 prize to fund his or her technology-based plan to uplift historically marginalized communities. Other special events include an award’s luncheon honoring notables who have worked to bridge the digital divide and a special screening of the acclaimed documentary “Against All Odds: The Fight for a Black Middle Class.”

WHAT: The 2017 Future of Wealth Summit: Technology, Inclusion and Social Change
WHERE: Washington Court Hotel, 525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC.
WHEN: April 26-28, 2017
  • Jesse Williams, Ebroji
  • Star Jones, National Association of Professional Women/Professional Diversity Network
  • U.S. Rep. Greg Meeks (NY-5th)
  • U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30th)
  • Maya Rockeymoore, Center for Global Policy Solutions
  • Panama Jackson, VerySmartBrothas.com
  • Daniel Araya, Brookings
  • Algernon Austin, Demos
  • Nikitra Bailey, Center for Responsible Lending
  • Melissa Bradley, Sidecar Social Finance, Georgetown University
  • Steve Clemons, The Atlantic
  •  Natalie Cofield, Walker’s Legacy
  •  William Darity, Jr., Duke University
  • Jotaka Eaddy, LendUp
  • Laura I. Gomez, Atipica
  • Ron Gonzales, Hispanic Foundation of Silicon Valley
  • Christopher Gray, Scholly
  • Neil A. Green, Intel
  • Darrick Hamilton, The New School
  • Chanelle Hardy, Google
  • Ruben Harris, Breaking Into Startups
  • Chase Iron Eyes, Lakota People’s Project
  • Ben Jealous, Kapor Capital
  • Avis Jones-Deweever, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Solutionist
  • Sarah Kunst, Proday.co
  • Mary Madden, Data & Society Research Institute
  • Tony Maldonado, IGRP Insignia Entertainment
  • Greisa Martinez, United We Dream
  • Taylor Moore, Center for Democracy and Technology
  • Irum Musharraf, PayActiv
  • Jessica Norwood, The Runway Project
  • Ramona Ortega, My Money, My Future, Inc.
  • May Samali, Urban Innovation Fund
  • Aaron Saunders, Clearly Innovative, Inc.
  • Sam Sinyangwe, Campaign Zero
  • William Spriggs, AFL-CIO
  • Jennifer Tescher, Center for Financial Services Innovation
  • Shaunna Thomas, UltraViolet
  • Wilson White, Google